Just call me Ms. Reporter

Today was my first day as an intern with Travel Weekly, and it was everything that I had hoped it would be. Walking in, the editor showed me around the building and showed me to my desk. Luckily for me, the cubicle where I will be spending most of my time this summer won’t be available until next week, so I get to stay in an editors office! It’s beautiful and massive and very… official. It’s pretty intimidating honestly.

My office for the week

No complaints from me though! It’s kind of funny that a 20-year-old has better work accommodations at this point than the seasoned journalists of 30 years who have a cubicle. Everyone has been teasing to me to “not get comfortable” in my space, especially the older staff. As a whole though, I think most of Travel Weeklyians are pretty nice. So nice, in fact, that I’ve already had my Tar Heel-ness openly opposed.

I found this on the board in my office after I went to the bathroom. Clearly the staff has a sense of humor, since smack-talking has already begun. I’m sure it will be a summer long event of transforming some staffers into UNC fans (although to be fair, I don’t think Jerseyians care much about NC, including Duke). Even though the infamous NC rivalry doesn’t have a presence in NJ, the Duke joke made me feel at home.

I did a lot of journalisty things today, like staff meetings, lunch in the office, editing and planning my responsibilities that really kick in tomorrow. It was a whirlwind of a day, and I know my summer is going to be really fast-paced. But by the time I stepped out of the Travel Weekly building at the end of the day, I knew this is where I want to be. This is what I want to be doing for the rest of my life. Although the decision to come to the city with no housing, job or money was somewhat foolhardy, I know I made the right decision to spend my summer here. And for a rising senior who has pretty much completed her reporting major at this point, it’s a relief.

Leave a Reply

